Superheroes with a “Double Chin”

Anjali Sharma
3 min readSep 5, 2019

It all started with me growing up in a partially conservative family with a few restrictions even on basic things. Maybe because of their profession or because of the “Adarshwaadi” notion, but my parents were a little strict when it comes to rules and regulations of life.

My super cute family at Jammu & Kashmir

I am a proud Air Force Brat and hence spent most of my childhood exploring Air Force campuses. My father’s work culture made me realise that life is all about following rules and staying loyal to your work.

My mother is a teacher and like every other teacher we have ever encountered in our life, she gives a lot of gyaaaaaaan on daily basis. (With a special emphasis on A lot and Daily Basis 😅 )

My elder brother and I have some amazing conversation experiences about how life works and how it should. My brother is extremely clear in his thought process and hence is my role model for most of my life situations. The interesting fact is, we never talk about education and career and “Aage ka kya socha hai” types convo to be very specific!

Bacpan se pachpan, woh Sharukh waale khet, Giving such poses since ’98 🙈

I am a grown up now. I haven’t met my family in the past 1 year due to my multiple commitments. I live in a completely independent environment with almost no personal restrictions. I have been to multiple places and am very volatile with my choice of work experiences.

And it takes great pride to know that my family teachings are now embedded deep down within me.

So, here I present an open letter to my super weird yet super cute family:

Dear Fam 🧡

I didn’t realise you were teaching me the time management when you used to say it’s 6.45 in the morning for waking me up when it was not even 6.

I didn’t realise you wanted me to respect regulations when you made the rule of asking for everything even as basic as eating bournvita!

I didn’t realise you wanted me to grow as an independent woman when you let everything on me at a very early age.

I didn’t realise you were teaching the precious life lessons all my life through my basic routine.

A big Thank You for everything.

You are the Superheroes of my life 😎

But as you people have also grown up with me and developed this cute double chin (All of you 😅)…

The most patient(for obvious reasons 🙈 ) teachers of my life!

You are my superheroes with a double chin!

Thank you for bringing the best out of me and making me who I am today!

Happy Teacher’s Day! 👩🏻‍🏫😊

--

--

Anjali Sharma

Advocating possibilities @lawofpossibility.com | Product Manager | Published Author: The Side Hustle Revolution🚀